Technology platform for electronic systems:

Access to Fraunhofer’s expert knowledge of more-than-Moore technologies.

Semiconductor-based Technologies

There is scarcely a technology sector where global competition is as challenging as in electronic systems. Invisible to the naked eye as they usually are, hidden under the surface of the product, electronic systems with a high degree of complexity must be designed, manufactured, and brought to market in an extremely short period of time and they must work absolutely reliably and energy efficiently. Basic technological research, customer-specific process development, and reliable production are the key to the development of innovative system solutions.

In order to be able to offer a stable process platform as the basis for innovative continued development, the employees of the Fraunhofer Group for Microelectronics work on a shared technology platform. This cooperation takes place under the auspices of the Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems IPMS.

The strategic core competence "Semiconductor-based technologies" bundles the specialist knowledge of the member institutes in this technology platform – particularly within the area of More-than-Moore technologies, as they are known. The basics are the technologies available at the institutes, such as:

Si process technology for wafer diameters of 150  and 200 mm

Individual processes on 300 mm wafer

MEMS specific add-on technologies

Development of SiC materials and technology for power electronics

GaN process technology for power and ultra-high frequency applications

Topic focuses based on these technologies and with the aim of establishing cross-institute cooperation for functional diversification include:

Enhancement of the 200 mm Si technology basis for MEMS and MOEMS applications

Complementary non-Si technology platforms such as central SiC process steps and devices for the highest cutoff voltages

GaN applications in opto- and power electronics

Optimized packaging

Integration of new materials for enhanced functionality and optimized performance 200 mm foundry operation 

The Fraunhofer Group for Microelectronics thus positions itself beside its competitors IMEC (Belgium) and CEA-Leti (France) as part of a pan-European smart specialization and offers foundry operations for small and medium batch sizes on a 100 mm and 200 mm wafer basis with the option of later addition of 300 mm.

Technologieplattform für elektronische Systeme

Zugang zum Fraunhofer-Expertenwissen im Bereich der More-than-Moore-Technologien

Halbleiterbasierte Technologien

In kaum einer Technologiebranche ist der weltweite Wettbewerb so herausfordernd wie bei den elektronischen Systemen. Für das Auge meist unsichtbar unter der Produktoberfläche verborgen, müssen elektronische Systeme mit höchster Komplexität in kurzer Zeit zu einem akzeptablen Preis entworfen, hergestellt und auf den Markt gebracht werden und zuverlässig sowie energieeffizient funktionieren. Technologische Grundlagenforschung, kundenspezifische Prozessentwicklung und zuverlässige Fertigung sind der Schlüssel zur Entwicklung von neuartigen Systemlösungen.

Um eine stabile Prozessplattform als Basis für innovative Weiterentwicklungen anzubieten, arbeiten die Mitglieder des Fraunhofer-Verbunds Mikroelektronik an einer gemeinsamen Technologieplattform. Die Kooperation geschieht unter Federführung des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Photonische Mikrosysteme IPMS.

Die strategische Kernkompetenz »Halbleiterbasierte Technologien« bündelt in dieser Technologieplattform das Fachwissen der Mitgliedsinstitute speziell im Bereich der sogenannten More-than-Moore-Technologien. Grundlage sind dabei die an den Instituten verfügbaren Technologien wie:

Si-Prozesstechnologie für 150 und 200 mm Wafer-Durchmesser

200 mm CMOS-Linie mit automotive Qualität (0.35µm Strukturgröße)

Einzelprozesse auf 300 mm Wafer

Mikrosystemspezifische Add-on-Technologien

SiC-Material- und Technologieentwicklung für die Leistungselektronik

GaN-Prozesstechnologie für Leistungs- und Höchstfrequenzanwendungen

Darauf aufbauende Themenschwerpunkte der auf eine funktionelle Diversifizierung ausgelegten institutsübergreifenden Kooperation sind:

Erweiterung der 200 mm Si-Technologiebasis für MEMS und MOEMS-Anwendungen

Ergänzende Non-Si-Technologieplattformen wie zentrale SiC-Prozessschritte und Bauelemente für höchste Sperrspannungen

GaN-Anwendungen in Opto- und Leistungselektronik

Optimierte Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik

Integration neuer Materialien für erweiterte Funktionalität und optimierte Performance

200 mm Foundry-Betrieb

Der Fraunhofer-Verbund Mikroelektronik etabliert sich damit neben seinen Mitbewerbern IMEC (Belgien) und CEA-Leti (Frankreich) als ein Teil einer europaweiten Smart Specialization und bietet einen Foundry-Betrieb im Bereich kleiner und mittlerer Stückzahlen auf 150 und 200 mm Wafer-Basis mit der Option einer späteren möglichen Erweiterung auf 300 mm an.