Access to Fraunhofer’s expert knowledge in the areas of power electronics and information technology for the smart grid, as well as energy harvesting, energy storage, and energy management

more info

Power Electronics and System Technologies for Energy Supply

Demand-led supply of electrical energy is a globally important issue. In the smart power grid of the future, a number of energy sources, storage options, and grid levels will be linked together in complex infrastructures. The energy will be used in a very wide range of areas of application and power classes: Largely regenerative, decentralized energy production; high-efficiency sub-grids; and the coupling of electrical energy with other types of energy (chemical, mechanical, thermal) are becoming more and more important. At the same time, electrical and secondary storage options are being more heavily integrated into the grid and load shifting effects are exploited. Large overall systems with a high degree of independence (industry, large building complexes, towns, etc.) need new types of energy concepts. 

The Fraunhofer Group for Microelectronics develops high-efficiency systems and components to provide the technology needed for sustainably efficient yet cost-effective energy supply. The strategic core competence "Power Electronics and System Technologies for Energy Supply" bundles the specialist knowledge of the member institutes in the areas of power electronics and information technology for the smart grid as well as energy harvesting, energy storage, and energy management. The main thematic focuses of the cross-institute platform are:

System development for power electronics (power grids, energy conversion, and energy storages)

Information and communication technology for smart grids, including sensors

Energy management

Energy storage technologies and battery management

Technologies for ubiquitous energy harvesting

Electric drive technology

Electromagnetic compatibility (EMC)

Material development, device technology (active/passive), circuit development, and packaging

In addition to minimizing energy losses and lowering costs for the use of renewable energy in the long term, the focus is placed particularly on issues of reliability and robustness as well as increased grid quality and stability. Application-specific optimization of installation space, weight, and material consumption is another aim of the research and development.

Applications

Power-electronic systems // Information & communication technology // Devices & circuits

Overview Datasheets

Zugang zum Fraunhofer-Expertenwissen in den Bereichen Leistungselektronik und Informationstechnik für das Smart Grid sowie Energy Harvesting, Energiespeicherung und Energiemanagement

mehr Info

Leistungselektronik und Systemtechnik für die Energieversorgung

Bedarfsgerechte Versorgung mit elektrischer Energie ist ein Thema von globaler Bedeutung. Im Stromnetz der Zukunft wird eine Vielzahl von Energiequellen, -speichern und Netzebenen in komplexen Infrastrukturen miteinander verknüpft. Die Nutzung der Energie erfolgt dabei in den verschiedensten Anwendungsbereichen und Leistungsklassen: Immer größere Bedeutung erlangen die dominant regenerative, dezentrale Energieerzeugung, hocheffiziente Subnetze sowie die Kopplung elektrischer mit anderen Energieformen (chemischer, mechanischer, thermischer). Gleichzeitig werden elektrische und sekundäre Speicher verstärkt ins Netz eingebunden und Lastverschiebungseffekte ausgenutzt. Große Gesamtsysteme mit hohem Autarkiegrad (Industrie, große Gebäudekomplexe, Kommunen etc.) benötigen neuartige Energiekonzepte.

Zur Bereitstellung der notwendigen Technologien einer nachhaltigen und zugleich kostengünstigen Energieversorgung werden im Fraunhofer-Verbund Mikroelektronik hoch effiziente Systeme und Komponenten entwickelt. Die strategische Kernkompetenz »Leistungselektronik und Systemtechnik für die Energieversorgung« bündelt das Fachwissen der Mitgliedsinstitute in den Bereichen Leistungselektronik und Informationstechnik für das Smart Grid sowie Energy Harvesting, Energiespeicherung und Energiemanagement. Die Themenschwerpunkte der institutsübergreifenden Plattform sind:

Leistungselektronische Systementwicklung

Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik für Smart Grids, inklusive Sensorik

Energiemanagement

Energiespeichertechnologien und Batteriemanagement

Technologien für Ubiquitäres Energy Harvesting

Elektrische Antriebstechnik

Elektromagnetische Verträglichkeit (EMV)

Materialentwicklung, Bauelementetechnologie (aktiv, passiv), Schaltungsentwicklung sowie Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik (AVT)

Neben der Minimierung von Energieverlusten und der langfristigen Kostensenkung für die Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien liegt dabei das Augenmerk vor allem auf Fragen der Zuverlässigkeit und Robustheit sowie erhöhter Netzqualität und -stabilität. Auch die anwendungsspezifische Optimierung von Bauraum, Gewicht und Materialverbrauch ist Gegenstand der Forschung und Entwicklung.

Anwendungen

Leistungselektronische Systeme // Informations- & Kommunikationstechnik // Bauelemente & Schaltungen

Übersicht Datenblätter